Current List of State Dept of Ed CS4 Members

Current as of November 15, 2018

Note:  This list contains ONLY state department of education regular member.  To see a full directory of CS4 members, go to this page.  

 
You may also download the file in MS Word format.  (Dec 4, 2015 version)

Alabama

Ms. Nettie D. Carson-Mullins
Social Sciences Education Specialist
Regular Member since 2007

ncarson-mullins@alsde.edu
(334) 353-1191

Alabama State Department of Education
Instructional Services Division
50 North Ripley Street
Montgomery, AL 36104

Website
Alaska

Vacant

Alaska Department of Education & Early Development
Division of Teaching and Learning Support
801 West 10th Street, Suite 200
Juneau, AK 99801

Website
Arizona

Ms. Tammy Waller
Director of K-12 Social Studies and World Languages
Regular Member since 20015

tammy.waller@azed.org
(602) 364-1981

K-12 Academic Standards
Arizona Department of Education
1535 West Jefferson Street Bin #5
Phoenix, AZ 85007

Website
Arkansas

Ms. Melissa Starkey
Social Studies Specialist
Regular Member since 2018

melissa.starkey@arkansas.gov
(501) 682-6584

Arkansas Department of Education
Curriculum and Instruction
Four State Capitol Mall Rm 202-B
Little Rock, AR 72201

Website
California

Ms. Janet Mann
Education Programs Consultant
Regular Member since 2017


jmann@cde.ca.gov

@CaEdHSS on Twitter
(916) 323-5818

California Department of Education
Instruction, Learning, and Standards Support Branch
1430 N Street, Suite 4309
Sacramento, CA 95814

Website
Colorado

Dr. Stephanie Hartman
Social Studies Content Specialist
Regular Member since 2006
Past%20Prez.png

Hartman_S@cde.state.co.us
(303) 866-6577

Colorado Department of Education
1580 Logan St., Suite 300
Denver, CO 80203

Website
Connecticut

Mr. Stephen Armstrong
Social Studies Consultant
Regular Member since 2014

stephen.armstrong@ct.gov
(860) 713-6706

Connecticut State Department of Education
Division of Teaching, Learning, and Assessment
165 Capitol Avenue, Room 215
Hartford, CT 06106

Website
Delaware

Mr. Dusty Shockley
Education Associate - Social Studies
Regular Member since 2006

pshockley@doe.k12.de.us
(302) 735-4180

Delaware Department of Education
Curriculum, Instruction, and Professional Development
401 Federal Street, Suite 2
Dover, DE 19901

Website
Florida

Mr. Michael DiPierro
Social Studies Education Specialist
Regular Member since 2016

michael.dipierro@fldoe.org
(850) 245-9773

Florida Department of Education
Bureau of Standards and Instructional Support
Division of Public Schools
325 W. Gaines Street, Suite 424
Tallahassee, FL 32399

Website
Georgia

Ms. Joy Hatcher
Social Studies Program Manager (6-12)
Regular Member since 2016

jhatcher@doe.k12.ga.us
(404) 656-2093


Ms. JoAnn Wood
Social Studies Specialist
Regular Member since 2017

jwood@doe.k12.ga.us
(404) 651-7271

@GADOE_SS on Twitter
GADOE Social Studies on Facebook
gadoesocialstudies on Instagram


Georgia Department of Education
Office of Academic Standards
1754 Twin Towers East
205 Jesse Hill Jr. Drive SE
Atlanta, GA 30334

Website
Hawaii

Ms. Rosanna Fukuda
Education Specialist
Social Studies Program, Curriculum and Instruction
Regular Member since 2007

Rosanna_Fukuda/cib/hidoe@notes.k12.hi.us

@socstdhi on Twitter
(808) 305-9713

Hawaii Department of Education
Instructional Services Branch
ISS, ISB, Room 119, Social Studies Program
475 22nd Avenue
Honolulu, HI 96816

Website
Idaho

Mr. Peter Kavouras
Coordinator, NASA/Social Studies Programs
Regular Member since 2004

pgkavouras@sde.idaho.gov
(208) 332-6975

Idaho State Department of Education
Academic Services, Support and Professional Development
650 West State Street
PO Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0027

Website
Illinois

Ms. Elizabeth Hiler
Social Science Principal Consultant
Regular Member since 2018

ehiler@isbe.net


Ms. Katie Elvidge
Social Science Content Specialist
Regular Member since 2017

kelvidge@isbe.net
@ElvidgeKathryn on Twitter


Illinois State Board of Education
100 N. First Street
Springfield, IL 62777

Website - IL State Board of Education


Center for Educational Initiatives
705 E. Lincoln, Suite 209
Normal, IL 61761

Website - IL Social Science in Action
Website - IL Classrooms in Action
Indiana

Vacant
Social Studies Specialist
Regular Member since 

Email
(317) 232-9078

Indiana Department of Education
115 W. Washington St
South Tower, Suite 600
Indianapolis, IN 46204

Website
Iowa

Ms. Stefanie Wager
Social Studies Consultant
Regular Member since 2013

stefanie.wager@iowa.gov
@srwteacher on Twitter
(515) 725-7842

Iowa Department of Education
Grimes State Office Building
400 E. 14th Street
Des Moines, IA 50319-0146

Website - Iowa Core Social Studies
Website - Iowa DOE Social Studies 
Kansas

Mr. Don Gifford
History-Government Program Consultant
Regular Member since 2010
Past%20Prez.png
dgifford@ksde.org
(785) 296-3892

Kansas State Department of Education
900 SW Jackson Ave Suite 653
Topeka, KS 66612

Website
Kentucky

Ms. Lauren Gallicchio
Social Studies Consultant
Regular Member since 2016

lauren.gallicchio@education.ky.gov
(502) 564-9850

Kentucky Department of Education
300 Sower Blvd, 5th Floor
Frankfort, KY 40601

Website
Louisiana

Ms. Emily Parker
Social Studies Content Consultant
Regular Member since 2018

emily.parker@la.gov


Ms. Jamie Beck
ELA and Social Studies Supervisor
Regular Member since 2012

jamie.beck@la.gov
(225) 342-3395

Louisiana Department of Education
1201 North Third Street
Baton Rouge, LA 70802

Website
Maine

Mr. Joe Schmidt
Social Studies Specialist
Regular Member since 2017

joe.schmidt@maine.gov

@madisonteacher on Twitter
(207) 624-6828

Maine Department of Education
23 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333

Website
Maryland

Ms. Leah Renzi
Coordinator of K-12 Social Studies
Regular Member since 2017

leah.renzi@maryland.gov
@leahrenzi on Twitter


Mr. Bruce Lesh
Education Program Supervisor
Coordinator, Office of K-12 Social Studies
Regular Member since 2015

bruce.lesh@maryland.gov
@brucelesh on Twitter

@MDSocialStudies on Twitter
(410) 767-0519

Maryland State Department of Education
200 West Baltimore Street
Baltimore, MD 21201

Website
Massachusetts

Ms. Ann Marie Gleeson
History and Social Science Assessment Developer

Regular Member since 2018 

ann.marie.gleeson@doe.mass.edu
Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
Student Assessment Services
75 Pleasant Street
Malden, MA 02148

Website
Michigan

Mr. Jim Cameron
Social Studies Education Consultant
Regular Member since 2011

cameronj3@michigan.gov
(517) 972-5662



Michigan Department of Education
608 West Allegan Street
PO Box 30008
Lansing, MI 48909

Website
Minnesota

Ms. Filiz Yargici
Social Studies Consultant
Regular Member since 2018

filiz.yargici@state.mn.us
(651) 259-3448

Minnesota Department of Education


Website
Mississippi

Mr. Chauncey Spears
Advanced Learning Director/Social Studies Specialist
Regular Member since 2010

crspears@mde.k12.ms.us
(601) 359-2586

Mississippi Department of Education
Division of Curriculum and Instruction
PO Box 771
Jackson, MS 39205-0771

Website
Missouri

Ms. Dixie Grupe
Director, Social Studies
Regular Member since 2015

dixie.grupe@dese.mo.gov
(573) 751-0398

Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
Office of College and Career Readiness
205 Jefferson St #5
Jefferson City, MO 65101

Website
Montana

Mr. Mike Jetty
Indian Education Consultant
Regular Member since 2013

mjetty@mt.gov
(406) 444-0720

Office of Public Instruction
Indian Education Programming and Services Division
1300 11th Avenue
Helena, MT 59620

Website
Nebraska

Mr. Harris Payne
Director of Social Studies
Regular Member since 2012

harris.payne@nebraska.gov
(402) 471-2449

Nebraska Department of Education
301 Centennial mall South
PO Box 94987
Lincoln, NE 68509-4987

Website
Nevada

Ms. Jayne Malorni
Education Programs Professional
Social Studies and Literacy
Regular Member since 2018

jmalorni@doe.nv.gov

@NVSocialStudies on Twitter
(775) 987-9189

Nevada Department of Education
Standards and Instructional Support
700 E. Fifth Street
Carson City, NV 89701-5096

Website
New Hampshire

Vacant

Regular Member since 

email
New Hampshire Department of Education
Curriculum and Assessment
101 Pleasant Street
Concord, NH 03301

Website
New Jersey

Ms. Beverly Plein
Coordinator of Social Studies
Regular Member since 2014

beverly.plein@doe.nj.gov
(609) 943-5732

New Jersey Department of Education
Academic and Professional Standards
100 Riverview Plaza
PO Box 500
Trenton, NJ 08625-0500

Website
New Mexico

Vacant

Regular Member since 

email
Education Administrator A
Public Education Agency
Instructional Support Division
300 Don Gaspar
Santa Fe, NM 87501-2786

Website
New York

Ms. Christy Radez
Social Studies Associate
Regular Member since 2018

christine.radez@nysed.gov

Mr. Dan King
Social Studies Associate
Regular Member since 2018

daniel.king@nysed.gov
(518) 486-1744

New York State Education Department
89 Washington Avenue
Albany, NY 12234

Website
North Carolina

Ms. Michelle McLaughlin
K-12 Social Studies Education
Regular Member since 2010

michelle.mclaughlin@dpi.nc.gov
(919) 807-3847
@DPI_SSTeam on Twitter


Ms. Justyn Knox
K-12 Social Studies Consultant
Regular Member since 2013

justyn.knox@dpi.nc.gov
(919) 807-3835
@justynknox on Twitter


Ms. Phylisha Sanders
K-12 Social Studies Consultant
Regular Member since 2016

phylisha.sanders@dpi.nc.gov
(919) 807-3832


Mr. Tom Daugherty
K-12 Social Studies Consultant
Regular Member since 2017

thomas.daugherty@dpi.nc.gov
(919) 807-3862


North Carolina Department of Public Instruction
Division of Curriculum and Instruction - 6th Floor
301 N. Wilmington Street
Raleigh, NC 27601

Website
North Dakota

Vacant

Regular Member since 

email
North Dakota Department of Public Instruction
600 E. Boulevard Avenue
Dept 201
Bismark, ND 58505-0440

Website
Ohio

Mr. Dwight Groce
Social Studies Consultant
Regular Member since 2005

dwight.groce@education.ohio.gov
(614) 387-3200


Ms. Linda McKean
Social Studies Consultant
Regular Member since 2013

linda.mckean@education.ohio.gov
(614) 387-0957
@LindaMcKean on Twitter
Ohio Department of Education
Curriculum and Assessment
25 South Front Street
Mail Stop 509
Columbus, OH 43215-4183

Website
Oklahoma

Ms. Brenda Beymer-Chapman
Director of Social Studies and Personal Financial Literacy
Regular Member since 2016

brenda.chapman@sde.ok.gov
@soonergirl1967 on Twitter
(405) 522-3523

Oklahoma State Department of Education
Office of Instruction, Suite 315
2500 North Lincoln Boulevard
Oklahoma City, OK 73105-4599

Website
Oregon

Vacant
Education Specialist
Regular Member since 


(503) 947-5772

Oregon Department of Education
Department of Learning
255 Capitol Street NE
Salem, OR 97310-0203

Website
Pennsylvania

Ms. Sally Flaherty
Social Studies Education Advisor
Regular Member since 2011

saflaherty@pa.gov
(717) 772-0636

Pennsylvania Department of Education
Bureau of Curriculum, Assessment, and Instruction
Division of Instructional Quality
333 Market Street, 8th Floor
Harrisburg, PA 17126-0333

Website
Rhode Island

Vacant

Regular Member since 

email
Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
Office of Instruction, Assessment, and Curriculum
255 Westminster Street
Providence, RI 029003-3400

Website
South Carolina

Mr. Stephen Corsini
Social Studies Education Associate
Regular Member since 2017

spcorsini@ed.sc.gov


Mr. Chris Turpin
Social Studies Education Associate
Regular Member since 2018

cturpin@ed.sc.gov



(803) 734-8335

South Carolina State Department of Education
Division of College and Career Readiness
1429 Senate Street
Columbia, SC 29201

Website
South Dakota

Mr. Sam Shaw
Curriculum Specialist
Regular Member since 2011

sam.shaw@state.sd.us
(605) 773-5229

South Dakota Department of Education
Office of Curriculum, Technology and Assessment
800 Governors Drive
Pierre, SD 57501-2294

Website
Tennessee

Dr. Kadie L. Patterson
Director of Social Studies and World Languages
Regular Member since 2016

kadie.patterson@tn.gov
Tennessee Department of Education
Curriculum and Instruction
Andrew Johnson Tower, 12th Floor
710 James Robertson Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243-0379

Website
Texas

Vacant


Regular Member since 

email

Texas Education Agency
Curriculum Division
1701 North Congress
Austin, TX 78701

Website
Utah

Mr. Robert Austin
Specialist
Regular Member since 2010
Past%20Prez.png
robert.austin@schools.utah.gov
@utahrobert on Twitter
(801) 538-7575

Utah State Office of Education, Teaching, and Learning
Licensing, Professional Development, International Initiatives, Social Studies
250 East 500 South
PO Box 144200
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200

Website
Vermont

Vacant

Regular Member since 

email
@VTED_SocStudies on Twitter
(802) 371-8028

Vermont State Department of Education
419 North Main Street, Suite 402
Barre, VT 05641

Website
Virginia

Ms. Christonya B. Brown
History and Social Science Coordinator
Regular Member since 2013

christonya.brown@doe.virginia.gov
(804) 225-2893


Ms. Betsy Barton
Elementary History and Social Science Coordinator
Regular Member since 2002

betsy.barton@doe.virginia.gov
(804) 225-3454
Virginia Department of Education
Office of Middle and High School Instruction
PO Box 2120
Richmond, VA 23218-2120

Website
Washington

Vacant

Regular Member since 

email
(360) 725-6351

Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction
Old Capitol Building
PO Box 47200
Olympia, WA 98504-7200

Website
Washington D.C.

Mr. Scott Abbott
Social Studies Director
Regular Member since 2012

scott.abbott@dc.gov
(704) 650-5636
@DCsocialstudies on Twitter


Mr. Anthony Hiller
Director, Social Studies Professional Learning
Regular Member since 2016

anthony.hiller@dc.gov


Mr. Jayson Wilkinson
Manager, Social Studies Professional Learning
Regular Member since 2015

jayson.wilkinson@dc.gov
(202) 442-8461


Dr. Donna Phillips
Manager, Social Studies Curriculum
Regular Member since 2015

donna.phillips@dc.gov
(202) 768-6205
@dphillips236 on Twitter


Ms. Leslie Booth
Manager, Social Studies Assessment
Regular Member since 2015

leslie.booth@dc.gov
@LeslieJBooth on Twitter
District of Columbia Public Schools
Office of Teaching and Learning
1200 First Street, NE
Washington, DC 20002

Website
West Virginia 

Ms. Allegra Kazemzadeh
Social Studies Coordinator
Regular Member since 2014

akazemzadeh@k12.wv.us
(304) 558-5325 x53040

West Virginia Department of Education
Office of Middle/Secondary Learning
1900 Kanawha Blvd East
Bldg 6, Room 603
Charleston, WV 25305-0330

Website
Wisconsin

Ms. Kris McDaniel
Social Studies Consultant
Regular Member since 2010

kristen.mcdaniel@dpi.wi.gov
(608) 266-2207

@WisDPISocStu on Twitter


Mr. David O'Connor
American Indian Studies Education Consultant
Regular Member since 2018

david.oconnor@dpi.wi.gov
(608) 267-2283
@WisDPIais on Twitter




Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
Social Studies Education - 4th Floor, B5
125 South Webster Street
PO Box 7841
Madison, WI 53707-7841

Website

Wyoming

Mr. Rob Black
Social Studies Consultant
Regular Member since 2017

rob.black1@wyo.gov
(307) 777-3747

Wyoming Department of Education
2300 Capitol Avenue
Hathaway Building, 2nd Floor
Cheyenne, WY 82002-0050

Website